home  news  study zone  career advice  pq awards  free mag  advertise  contact  nq mag
PQ magazine is for part qualified accountants.

Read the latest web issue here – if you like what you see sign up today

PQ Awards


From London’s Quaglino’s we give you the PQ awards 2014

If you were listening to Radio 2’s Steve Wright in the Afternoon then you would have heard that the place to be on 27 January 2014 was the PQ magazine awards night. Now, Steve said these were the PQ awards and not the GQ awards, but it would have been hard to beat the chilled atmosphere at Quaglino’s in London’s West End.

Compere for the evening was rising comedian Chris Martin. You will be hearing a lot more of him in the future – he has a pilot comedy shows Radio 4!

Winner of the PQ of the Year was James Field from Lewes. The ACCA PQ was ‘really making the difference’ at his employers, Cheesmur Building Contractors.

AAT student Donna Smith walked off with the Distance Learning Student of the Year award. She is proof-positive that it is never too late to start studying. She also managed to pass all her exams in one year!

Our NQ of the Year was CIMA Emily Hamblin who works for Vince Cable at BIS.

For the first time there were joint winners of our Lifetime Achievement Award. This year it went to Jane Scott Paul who is about to retire as CEO of the AAT and the wonderful Steve Freer (former CEO if CIPFA). Both have reshaped their professional bodies – for the better!

The 2014 winners are…

Student Body of the Year -The Accountancy, Finance & Economics Society at Manchester Metropolitan University

Accountancy Body of the Year - CIPFA

Accountancy College of the Year (Private Sector) - First Intuition, Bristol
Accountancy College of the Year (Public Sector) - Birmingham Metropolitan College

Lecturer of the Year (Private Sector) - Jennifer Saywell, BPP Nottingham
Lecturer of the Year (Public Sector) - Samantha Hannigan, Rotherham College

Study Resource of the Year - Premier Training

Innovation in Accountancy - Kaplan AAT PassPlus

Training Manager of the Year - Andy McLaren

Accountancy Team of the Year - Armstrong Watson Payroll Bureau Team

Accountancy Personality of the Year - Aaron Etingen, LSBF & Shaun Robertson, ICAEW

Lifetime Achievement - Jane Scott Paul, AAT & Steve Freer, CIPFA

NQ of the Year - Emily Hamblin

Distance Learning Student of the Year - Donna Smith

PQ of the Year - James Field

Editor’s Special Award - Reed Business School

[View Photo Galley]
preload preload preload preload
Subscribe to RSS